Martini Bond prepares for Manchester Pride

It’s all systems go again. Rehearsals are starting up, or rather the schedule for rehearsals is … most of the cast are on holiday. But if they’re not worried, I’m not worried about Martini Bond’s next outing (no pun intended…) at Manchester Pride festival in August.

This is probably the last time Martini Bond will be performed, almost certainly by this cast. I say almost certainly,  because one thing I’ve learnt about this show is: Never Say Never Again. (Oh yes, see how I slipped in a Bond gag. Note to self: Must read Is That A Pun In Your Pocket.)

“This show will definitely be performed again,” the director Helen Niland said to me last week. “There’s something about it…”

You see, every time we’ve said it was the last show, someone is in the audience, or the ether, who wants to take it on – and we can’t say no. We don’t want to say no! Just like all the Bond girls…

Anyway, if you find yourself in Manchester on August 16 or 17, come down to the Lass o’Gowrie, 36 Charles Street M1 7DB at 7pm. Tickets £7 or £5 concessions. Or book online: WeGotTickets.com

Martini Bond poster for Manchester Pride

Look familiar? Judith Walker’s cartoon is back on our Martini Bond poster for Pride

I’d love to know how your play, book, painting or any other project is going. Drop me a line.

July 20, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Comedy, Comedy writing, Humour, Theatre, Uncategorized.

7 Comments

  1. Carrie Rubin replied:

    I remember when you first posted the poster for Martini Bond. Now look at all those great reviews on it! Congrats again. Nice to have seen it come to fruition even if I’m not in your neck of the woods. 🙂

  2. Let's CUT the Crap! replied:

    Sounds entertaining. Too bad I won’t be in the ‘neighbourhood’.

  3. jmmcdowell replied:

    I like that attitude of “Never Say Never Again.” Sometimes the best success comes from “just once more.” I’d like to think that sometime next year, when my husband and I finally take a trip to England, we could catch the “last” performance of Martini Bond. 🙂

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Oh I like that idea too – of catching Martini Bond. I may work out how to upload video on YouTube…

  4. colonialist replied:

    Pity I’m geographically disadvantaged …

  5. Saturday Sit Down — With Lyndsey Jones | jmmcdowell replied:

    […] Martini Bond prepares for Manchester Pride (womanbitesdog.wordpress.com) […]

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Thanks for the Saturday Sit Down – it’s been great to be in touch.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

