How to write…cut down on blogging

How to write a book in 30 days… Yes, 30 days! THIRTY DAYS. Had to shout it to myself a third time just to make sure I committed to doing it. 30 days, though.

Can it be done? It’s a method, with a schedule and lovely headings that say things like “Downtime”. Unfortunately, that didn’t mean stop writing and start partying … And plot sketches. Well, the plot is a bit sketchy. And subplot threads. Yep, the subplot is threadbare … Do I need subplots?

The Guardian's How to Write a Book in 30 days

Ha! 30 days…Why not make it 15? Or 5? Or 3…months? Years? Oh go on, rub it in, why don’t you?

The “How to…” was another supplement from the Guardian newspaper. Rather well timed, seeing as I’m about to embark on my second play and frankly feel like I need all the help I can get.

Still, I thought it might be fun – yes FUN – to give it a go. Perhaps it would be more fun to just get drunk. But then that could be dangerous if I mixed alcohol and blogging.

Anyway, if I’m going to give this a go, I will probably need to reduce the blogging to once a week – to make writing time, engaging with you time, too, but not spending me time down the pub.

Have you written a book in 30 days? Or tried a writing method to help you stick to a schedule? Did it work? Or did you give up? Or do you have your own tips on how to stick at it?

October 22, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Blogging, Comedy writing, Humour, Publishing, Theatre, Writing.

11 Comments

  1. mskatykins replied:

    Good for you! I wanted to write one for the Harper Voyager open submissions earlier this month. I attempted it but didn’t devote enough time to it. I would be well up for trying this out. Thinking about Nano doodah this year. Good luck to you, Lyndsey. Keep us posted on your progress. 🙂

  2. Subtlekate replied:

    You will need the wine, keep the wine close! Give us some bloggy updates every now and then so we know you haven’t fallen down and can’t get up.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      As long as I can type, it doesn’t matter if I can’t get up in the short term…

  3. Chris Edgar replied:

    Unless you just turn your blog into a showcase for each individual chapter of your short story — that’s kind of like what I do by turning my blog into a showcase for song ideas and silly photos related to recording my music.

  4. Fran Abrams replied:

    Good stuff – hope it goes well. I have actually written a book in 30 days, though I wasn’t also working at another job at the same time. I take it you’re still going to work? That could be tough. Also, I did research for about 2 years before that, planned like mad and had a strict timetable for where I had to get to each day. Then, of course, the rewriting started. Keep us posted, if you have the time or the energy!

  5. kateshrewsday replied:

    Good luck in your endeavours. Didn’t Robert Louis Stevenson manage Jeckyll and Hyde in nine days-ish?

  6. Main Street Musings Blog replied:

    I am in a writing group that meets twice monthly and I find it forces me to stay on schedule with my writing. Good luck to you! I admire your ambition.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Thanks – and I think a writing group is a good idea. Beginning to think I need something like that to keep me on track…

  7. Tilly Bud - The Laughing Housewife replied:

    I had a go at Nanowrimo to settle an argument, which I won, but lost 😉

    Not everyone has a book in them.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

