OhMiGod. You’re being filmed with no make-up…

When women – or indeed men – of a certain age are being interviewed on telly and they look a bit, well, tired – they haven’t had her hair done, or put on some make-up, or you know, made an effort by wearing some bright colours – I’ve wondered: “Why the HELL did you let them film you?” But now I know why.

I turned up to a rehearsal recently and warned the cast: “You’re going to be filmed for an e-trailer.” Only on the way there, it had rained and the red dye from some crepe paper had run all down my hands, which I had wiped all down my white T-shirt.

The filming went well. Until the cameraman said to me: “And now we need a few words from the playwright….” Er, no, I hadn’t done my hair, I’d got no make-up on, I needed to put on a party dress and lose some weight (OK, that last one may take a bit longer).

But I was dazzled by the bright lights and the need to promote the show. Anyway, I was trapped. The cast were giggling and saying I’m sure in unison: “Ha, now you know what it’s like.” So I did it. And you can see the results for yourself on YouTube’s Martini Bond stream.

My colleague, fellow writer and former football goalkeeper Peter Chapman’s video is also worth a look. He’s written a very serious book about the collapse of Lehman Brothers – called The Last of the Imperious Rich and another on The Goalkeepers History of Britain. 

The point is writers of every genre are all having to become far more media savvy. It’s not good enough to have your Facebook page, Twitter account and blog. You need to come across well on film too – and post those video blogs as another way to reach out and connect with your audience.

Have you done a video post about your book/work? What did you think of it? Did it help to drive your sales? Would you consider doing a video post if you haven’t done one yet?

September 13, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Comedy writing, Humour, Publishing, Theatre.

13 Comments

  1. Missus Tribble replied:

    I allowed Epilepsy Action to film me with no make-up on too!

    I also didn’t put my trilby on. I’m fairly sure that the most traumatic thing for me during the entire shoot was feeling naked without my trilby. But, for some strange reason, they wanted a good view of my face…

  2. Carrie Rubin replied:

    You’re in the big leagues now! And you look great. I enjoyed watching the video, and now that music has me all pumped. But no, I haven’t done any video posts and likely won’t. The thought petrifies me. 🙂

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      You wanna sell those books, don’t you? Get your mug in front of that camera! Even if it’s just for you – ie practice runs!

  3. fashionfretter replied:

    Always worried about eye bogies and left over food myself. Long ago, hearing your own reedy voice and watching your own annoying little face (why do I do that with my mouth?) were special occasions when they got the cine camera out but now I’m used to what I look like on a camera. I don’t like it but I’m not as bothered as I was. Your t shirt looks clean by the way and I shall expect more updates in vidjo format.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Ah-ha – fashion fretter – you see I was fretting over my fashion. I’m glad you can’t see the red splodge – that’s because I pleaded with them to do whatever it took to get rid of it. If you know where to look you can see something splodge-like. Anyway, what colours should we wear on video? We need your advice!

  4. jmmcdowell replied:

    VIdeo? Eek! I hide behind sunglasses in my gravatar—you want me to do a video? I dread a “head shot” for my books when they’re published! Excuse me while I just back away slowly from the camera and then run like hell! 🙂

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      HaHa! Ah yes, when you publish that book you will need a video on YouTube. Focus on those sales! Perhaps you could do it with a bag over your head: guaranteed to get loads of hits?

  5. kateshrewsday replied:

    We fear film….i think you look great, if thats any help; but I am not the epitome of sartorial taste and my default setting is Bag Lady. I have often recalled, but never acted upon, the advice of a friend who trained as a journalist with the BBC. The lights went on and she was wearing no make up and a yellow suit. Erk. The next day a friend took her under her wing and off to the MAC make up counter. I believe she has never looked back. I wouldn’t know if a bag of Mac make up is the answer because its a bit pricey, and I would never have it in the right place at the right time anyway.

    Lovely to see a bit more about Ms Bond.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      That made me laugh. I’m with you on never having make-up at the right time. I always forget to put it in my bag and when it is in my bag, I always forget to use it because the default is not to have it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

