Will anyone like my Facebook page?

I’ve recently set up a Facebook page for WomanBitesDog because I thought I should experiment and see whether it was effective in connecting with any potential audience or anyone who likes comedy. But now, of course, I just see 5 likes and panic.

I’m wondering if I should just hit the like button thousands of times – but I’m not sure if that would work. Not only would that give me RSI, Facebook seems quite clever and will somehow know it’s me so won’t let the extra likes register anyway. So I’ve asked all my friends to like the page – one or two of them did. This is not going well.

The page is looking a bit forlorn. It needs friends!

Something magic seems to happen if you reach 30 likes. OK, you can monitor activity. Whatever that means. And, well if you hit 5,000, then you get all sorts of advanced pages. Or is that just more time-consuming stuff that takes you away from the reason you are there in the first place – writing?

And it showed up another flaw. We’ve spent so much time rehearsing and getting the play together that we overlooked taking any actual dress rehearsal shots. So we have few publicity photos. This needs sorting out soon. Not least because I need to upload photos on Facebook…

I’d love to hear from you: Do you have a public Facebook page? Do you have any advice on how to increase your e-profile? Is it effective in driving your sales – of books, theatre tickets, or whatever you are trying to produce?

 

 

 

August 30, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Blogging, Comedy, Comedy writing, Publishing, Theatre.

22 Comments

  1. totsymae1011 replied:

    I know the feeling. 13 people like me at ToshFombyakaTotsymae. Hint, hint. I’m going over to your page now.

  2. Pauline Guerin replied:

    Yes! and Yes! I have three Facebook pages, One for Purple Princess Designs, one for Melody Clark Couture and one for Purple Mutt Hut. I drive up the likes by liking pages such as ‘Hike those Likes’ ‘London loves’ and so on. I’ll start you off if you like and your likers will very soon increase. One could be on these pages all day every day, but I pick and choose my times to suit me! It’s different for my jewellery sites, I’ve not particularly had sales as yet, but it will come… I hope… at some point, but it certainly works for PMH!

    oh also add your details to ‘The Writing Hall’ that’ll bring you some attention as well.

    ‘P’

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Will certainly search out The Writing Hall…thanks for the advice.

  3. Carrie Rubin replied:

    I am facing this very issue right now–whether to set up a fan page for my book or not. Like you, I worry I’ll get about three likes and then be mortified. Plus, I just really don’t have any more time for social media. I’m still deciding whether to do it or not, but if I do, I will certainly like your page. (See? I don’t even know if one can like a page without being on Facebook. Do you?)

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      I’ve no idea if you can like Facebook without, well, being on Facebook. I have a horrible feeling that you have to join it – it being a monster that won’t go away…

      • Carrie Rubin replied:

        Yes, it appears you have to join first. Oh, well, I tried. 🙂

  4. jmmcdowell replied:

    I stopped by and liked it 🙂 I’m not sure I’ll ever set up a fan page on FB or not. I’m not sure how much bang you get for your buck with it. The more I look around, the more blogging seems the best medium, at least for me.

    Alas, you must sign up for FB to comment or like pages/posts. I’m not sure you can even really visit a page without signing up. (Except maybe if it’s totally public?) Another advantage to blogs—anyone can read them!

  5. robincoyle replied:

    My Facebook page is covered in dust and cobwebs. Such a sad little thing.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Uh-oh. Sounds like your page has entered the dead zone…

      • robincoyle replied:

        They played taps and said a prayer over the dead body.

  6. Gina replied:

    It sucks out your soul. But hey, it’s worth it to sell your show. Facebook is all about me me me me me me me me me me me me me me me me. Here are photos of ME! He’s what ME! likes! Can you tell I am the mother of two teenagers? Still, it’s not as bad as Twatter. Bring back telegrams.

  7. Odette replied:

    done!

  8. jotsfromasmallapt replied:

    http://lesleycarter.wordpress.com/2012/08/31/i-knew-i-was-going-to-succeed-creating-a-successful-blog/

    You might find some ideas from this link…if nothing else…encouragement to jump off the cliff and try something…else? Be encouraged….

  9. norfolknovelist replied:

    I need a lie down. I read Lesley’s advice about creating a successful blog, then your piece about accommodating friends in a busy writing life and now I’m exhausted, or maybe a tad hungover. I’ve just come up for air after having visitors all week and getting absolutely no writing done; sadly I have reached the conclusion that I can’t have it all. Something will have to give….

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      LOL. It is exhausting. I’m realising I’m going to have to plan time for my blogging friends too…they’ve been a bit neglected recently as well…

  10. kateshrewsday replied:

    Yup, I have a FB page and after all this time I sit there, Billy no mates, with only about 83 likes to my friends’ tens of thousands. Sheesh. I can’t bring myself to be un-British ask ask for likes. And I’m not sure that works…

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      It’s all a bit un-British – Facebook, revealing yourself, terrible photos…And I’m not sure any of it works either. I think you’ve just got to enjoy doing it. But I’m not sure I do…

  11. mskatykins replied:

    I need to delete and re-create my public facebook page. I’m usually pretty good with comp stuff but I’m out of my depth with this. I promised my bro I would properly set up my page a few weeks back, but I didn’t do it… Thank you for the renewed inspiration! I shall Like your page once mine is up and running! Good luck with it! 🙂

  12. Rohit replied:

    It was really nice to read the post and comments here. I’m going through the same situation. Actually I’m starting to fall in love with this blogging world! I’m a newbie.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

