Hollywood’s next…the one in Stockport

Martini Bond got its first review. OK, so a few of my journalist colleagues were in the audience and could see I was a bit down when the two reviewers didn’t turn up. So one or two offered to write something – independently I must stress – and submit to one or two websites – independent of their workplaces I must stress.

Anyway, our first review success was with CommanderBond.net. “Satirical farce laced with loads of gags,” it said. This show “manages to send up every Bond cliche in the book but Jones also subverts the genre from a witty feminist perspective”. One of the actresses, Julia Collier, was lauded for her portrayal of Franken von Banken “a Shirley Bassey-esque Bond villain” who “brought the house down”.

Fab. That added to my feeling of exhilaration. It’s been quite a couple of weeks. Now my attention is turning to the Barking show at the Broadway theatre, which is actually on a road called The Broadway. I keep telling everyone I can legitimately say I’m on Broadway. Then some wag pointed out that Hollywood would be next. That’s Hollywood in Stockport (a town in northern England).

We’re off to Broadway…the one in Barking, east London

So I’m back to trying to get the show listed on websites and in national newspapers or London listing guides. And redesigning the poster. Networking. Promoting other shows via social media in the hope they will promote ours. It’s all go, go, go. What will I do when it all stops, stops, stops?

August 23, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , . Blogging, Books, Comedy, Comedy writing, Theatre.

7 Comments

  1. Carrie Rubin replied:

    Congrats on the great review–so crucial, I know. It’s fun to read about your journey, so keep sharing. πŸ™‚

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      I’m glad you’re enjoying it…I sometimes enjoy and other times I just feel sick with nerves.

  2. mskatykins replied:

    Excellent, many congratulations! πŸ™‚

  3. kateshrewsday replied:

    Great to know it hit the mark! Onwards and upwards!

  4. Claire Cappetta replied:

    Congtrats on getting it onto the stage! Well done and with such a fantastic review too!

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Thanks. It was all a relief. But now I feel bereft! Just as well I have the next show dates to look forward to. But after that? I think I’ve got to write more…

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

