Pre-results nerves: we all want A stars

“I’m more nervous about your play than I am about my daughter’s A-level results,” my friend emailed me. Her daughter can always retake her A-levels. And I can always rewrite the play. But that’s not the point. All of us – students and budding playwrights alike – want to get it right first time and score As (or should that be A stars?).

Oh yes, you see, we are having a couple of reviewers to the first night. First play, first night, first reviewers. Just have to repeat my mantra: no such thing as bad publicity (except no publicity) – and keep doing the breathing exercises – the type you do in a brown paper bag to prevent hyperventilating.

I’ve also heard anecdotally that Martini Bond is the – or at least one of the – biggest selling shows at Camden Fringe this year. I haven’t bothered to confirm that gorgeous piece of gossip because, frankly, I want to believe it. We have one ticket – yes ONE – ticket left for Friday night. Sold out Saturday. And ticket sales are going very well for Sunday.

Final full day rehearsal today with a bit of filming thrown in for our e-trailer for the Barking show – when MB transfers to The Broadway theatre on September 20 -23. These shows will be live streamed too – but more on that soon.

So good luck to all A-level students today. Here’s to your success. And if you fail? Pick yourself up, dust yourself down and try again. Some of us also have to fail before we succeed. But in the end we find our path.

And to the Martini Bond cast and crew – break a leg! It has taken a lot of time, effort, dedication and team work by all involved – so here’s to that too. Only make mine a double large of whatever you’re drinking and hand me that paper bag.

August 16, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , . Blogging, Comedy writing, Humour, Publishing, Theatre.

7 Comments

  1. valeriedavies replied:

    congratulations on those ticket sales pretty damn good, I’d say!
    Go Well

  2. Judith replied:

    Looking forward to seeing the show on Saturday

  3. Carrie Rubin replied:

    Very exciting. So glad to hear of the successes so far. 🙂

  4. kateshrewsday replied:

    All the best! Thinking of you!

  5. jmmcdowell replied:

    I’m hoping I can catch this on the live streaming! If not, will there be an archived version I can watch? But break a leg on opening night (and have a double of whatever anyone else is drinking—shaken, not stirred. 🙂

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      LOL. and thanks for th kind wishes. Will blog on the live streaming soon – that will be in September (20-23). If you are able to stream in, I would love to know your views on what the experience was like (and the play…)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

