How often should you blog?

How often do you blog? That’s what I would like to know from all my fellow bloggers. Ok, I’ve looked at many blogs – and they range from daily to monthly – and I’ve read the WordPress recommendations, but what do you actually do?

I’ve started to wonder about this because on holiday recently I was able to blog every day for a short period – and the blog seemed to start gaining momentum, with comments and the number of followers rising by the day. But then I went offline – well I was on holiday and I didn’t want to tip off the local burglars. Not that I live in a high crime area, but you get my drift. And I’ve got to start all that hard work over again. Oh yes, don’t you find blogging is hard work, takes time and needs all the necessary life skills such as time management (writing/research), management (of myself) and customer service (replying to comments, reading and liking blogs…)?

Anyway, I thought I would blog every day. But then I was suffering from jet lag and it seemed like too huge a demand to even switch the computer on. So I thought I would give myself the weekends off and blog Monday to Friday. But then where do I fit in the playwriting (of the second idea)? The marketing of the first play? Developing the ebook? And, er, my day job?

So what about 3 days a week?…but now I’m even finding that difficult. I’ve had to rush this out, before I rush off to work. So I’m wondering, have any of you found the ideal amount of blogging to do, to not only generate interest in what you have to say but maintain that interest over the long term (well, the next week or two would do)?

June 11, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , . Books, Comedy, Comedy writing, Humour, Publishing.

29 Comments

  1. darkwoodbooks replied:

    I aim for 2 per week but its hit & miss depending how busy I am or how creative I am feeling. Some times I have nothing to say while other days I think up ideas for 2 or 3 blogs.

  2. crubin replied:

    I find twice a week suits me just fine. And for people who read a lot of blogs, I imagine they prefer a lighter posting schedule. But of course, it should be whatever appeals to the blogger him or herself.

  3. Mark replied:

    I’ve been thinking about this for my own blog and lean away from frequent blogging for two reasons:
    – Pressure of time.
    – Coming up with something worthwhile to say.
    It shows even with newspaper columnists, who may have to churn out 700-800 words once a week, that they sometimes struggle …. and they’re being paid to sit around and think about for a while. And readers will stop reading when the cracks start to show.
    I would reckon if that you’ve got all the pressures of a regular job, once a week is sufficient; maybe even once a fortnight if you’ve got the talent for really stirring up your readers. And if you’re trying to write a play/screenplay/book/symphony it’s even more the case.

  4. artstylelove replied:

    I think it can be hard somwtimes to fit it in. ifd you schedule it however, it gets easier. I think it also depends on what you are blogging about…
    Great post!

  5. jmmcdowell replied:

    Ditto on twice a week for me. Any more than that takes too much time away from my writing and is hard for me to sustain. I tried three times per week at first, and it was too much for me.

    The advice I see most and think is most helpful is to find a schedule that is comfortable for you to keep, whether that’s once a week or everyday. If it’s less than every day, pick the same days to post so your readers know when to expect a new post, even if they get email notifications.

    I go with Saturday and Tuesday, which works well for me.

    And frankly, I find it easier to follow bloggers who DON’T post every day. I don’t feel overwhelmed by them and can usually engage in comments more regularly.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      I’m thinking 3 times a week might be too much. I like the sound of 2. Maybe Mondays and Thursdays. Sounds like a plan. Your feedback is very useful. Thanks

  6. Pauline Guerin replied:

    I have to agree with the above posts, about twice per week seems ideal, although I wish I could practise that preach frankly. I simply don’t get the time to that in all honesty, what with keeping two Etsy sites going, keeping Ebay going, running around after students with my academic hat on, and then not finding the time to write at all, it’s a nightmare. Plus I don’t have too many followers because I have no idea how to find them, so I don’t blog because there’s noone to read it πŸ˜• vicious circle.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      You sound so busy that any blogging is an achievement! To find followers, start following bloggers who leave comments and like postings on blogs you like. They may follow you back – with any luck.

  7. Chris replied:

    I think it depends on the person and the type of blog. Obviously you’d expect longer posts to be written less frequently but someone may have the time or inclination to pump out 2000 word essays every day.

    I like to have new content to read everyday so that’s a personal goal when writing my own posts. My latest blog though has only existed for 2 weeks so we’ll see how long that lasts!

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Good luck with your new post. I agree it’s very personal and depends on what you hope to achieve. Thanks for commenting.

  8. ethelthedean replied:

    I blog every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. When I first started out I made myself stick to this schedule just so I could get into the swing of things. Now it’s more or less second nature. And if I have anything else I would like to share on the other days, I just post away.

    I like knowing when other bloggers post stuff too – gives me something to look forward to!

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      I also like the sound of this. Have your regular blogging days but if the mood takes you, or you have something to say, blog an extra day too.

  9. Amritorupa Kanjilal replied:

    One post every three days is ideal for me. Daily updates, I believe would put off subscribers who would hate having their inbox flooded.

    Do visit!

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Yes, I’ve been meaning to visit you – you are on my list! Visiting and commenting also takes time – so thanks for taking the time to do just that. And I think you’re right about the annoying your readers with too many posts!

  10. Donavan replied:

    Blogging twice a week is a nice pace. At first, I set a goal to post 3 to 4 times a month. However, it depends on what you cover on your blog.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Hi Donavan. Thanks for visiting and commenting. I think the consensus looks like twice a week so that’s what I’m going to aim for…

  11. Donavan replied:

    Good luck. By the way, thanks for visiting my blog.

  12. fashionfretter replied:

    As a rule of thumb, I blog as often as I bathe. So that’s four times today and one about a month ago if that helps. Or once a week.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      That’s a great help. Now I know when to wash. Hope you’re bathing in milk so you – and your words – don’t wrinkle. Thanks for visiting and commenting FF

  13. 4amWriter replied:

    Twice a week, but one of my weekly posts (Sunday Spins) is not about the writing aspect and more about connecting with other blogs. I can’t do more than that, and I cannot keep up with other blogs who post more than 1-2 times per week. There just isn’t enough time to read much less comment.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      That seems to be the theme that’s developing – once or twice a week otherwise we all get overloaded. Thanks for the comment

  14. Carl D'Agostinoc replied:

    I’ve posted 540 in 2 years – quite a pace but had 30 years stuff on files to redo blog appropriate. Need to slow down to 3 a week. Now do guest post Wednesdays, artists or poets and that fills 52 days a years with quality and expands the network while promoting others. Thanks visit my blog.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Wow! That’s really going for it. Like the idea of quality guest posts, too. Sounds great.

  15. maggiemyklebust replied:

    Okay… I try to blog three times a week, its impossible for me to do more but if I do less, I see my traffic slows down.

    With that said, I have followed bloggers who blog three times a day and find it impossible to keep up with them!

    They fill my inbox, which stresses me out… so I stopped following. Not because I don’t enjoy their posts, its just too much…

    Thats what I think anyway..

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      That’s interesting what you say about 3 times a week. That is definitely an issue for some people. I did experiment and blog 3 times consecutively – and that really boosted by traffic but then it dropped off. I’ve decided to take the long view: blog regularly but don’t overload yourself and fellow bloggers alike and seek out likeminded bloggers to build relationships. Thanks for your comment.

  16. shoes replied:

    I try to blog three times a week but I don’t let any particular amount stress me or tie me down. I always do a what I call a Simple Sunday post which is simply a picture from that week with a sentence or two.

    I love the increase in traffic and comments when I blog often but in the end I blog for me. I don’t want to blog for blogging sake so if am not inspired with material then I post less. Also I think that if I blog day after day it might be too much (for me and my readers!) πŸ™‚

  17. WomanBitesDog replied:

    I like your Sunday idea. Simple and effective.

  18. mylifeisthebestlife replied:

    I’m totally still struggling with this. I find that there have been times when I didn’t think I’d be blogging that day, but I wake up and see that my site had gotten quite a few hits over night and already lots of hits in the morning, and it motivates me to put something up.
    Mostly, I blog when I have something to say. I try to at least have something to say Monday – Friday.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

