Guide to self-publishing

I wasn’t necessarily going to blog today but then I saw this: A 10-step guide to becoming a self-publishing ebook star in the Guardian newspaper.

Worth a read. But here’s the speed read if you have no time:

Be your own editor/designer/marketeer.

Work hard.

Have your own website (although the other day I read that websites were old news, what you need is a blog and Facebook…)

Preferably write romance – these authors sell 170% more than their peers.

Check out Copyblogger.

Oh, and have lots of luck.

Plays didn’t really feature. But then I wasn’t in this for the money. Well, not yet. Well, perhaps some money would be good. Oh god, no I want the freedom that a stage offers a writer – more than money. Now I’ll have to spend the rest of the day checking out all this info and not writing my second play (Shopping and Killing), or designing the poster for my first play (Martini Bond) or even trying to format the text for my eplay. Heyho.

June 7, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Books, Comedy, Comedy writing, Humour, Publishing.

9 Comments

  1. HBO replied:

    Next play is called ‘Shopping and Killing’? So the visit was for research.

  2. crubin replied:

    Oh, boy. I don’t write (or read) romance, and I’m not yet on Facebook. Guess I’m doomed. 🙂

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Erotica is apparantly a moneyspinner. Or Fantasy. Is that the same thing?

  3. jmmcdowell replied:

    Ditto, no romance genre here, and FB is only my personal account for “real life” friends and family. But I have a blog! That’s something, right?! 🙂

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      That’s what I used Facebook for too. Think you can only do so much. Otherwise you’ll spend all day on social media and no time to actually write your play/book

      • jmmcdowell replied:

        Oh, yes. You might enjoy my upcoming Saturday post for my spin on social media 🙂

  4. 4amWriter replied:

    Romance, hmm. Interesting, but I don’t think I’d write it well. I’m much more comfy writing about drama and romance not going well, lol. Yes, got the blog and I have a FB page in addition to my FB personal account. Having trouble getting into the FB page though, my blog sucks up a lot of my time.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Yes, blogging seems to take up a lot of time – that theme keeps cropping up. Does it pay off in the long run tho? Lots of readers? Lots of advice?
      Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

