Britons got talent

Made a breakthrough today with the rewriting, largely because some friends cancelled meeting for lunch. That meant I had to stop avoiding my avoidance mode. Suddenly I was forced to use my free time effectively and start looking at all the feedback on the first draft of Martini Bond.

So I’ve deleted one scene from Act II, deleted a few words from Act I, and added about three words into another scene in Act III, which of course have improved it no end. That all took about 10 minutes, and I was so pleased with myself that I switched off the computer and decided to take the rest of the day off…

Only a few hours later to be racked with guilt…just finish this blog first and then I will turn my attention back to the rewrite…

I saw a TV interview with British comedian Ben Elton recently, during which he said he wrote a 45-minute script for the highly successful Comic Strip series in one night. My initial thoughts were a) he’s surely being economical with the truth – it must have taken longer than that? b) It must have taken weeks, if not months c) Ohmigod, he’s got talent d) I may as well pack up now and go home e) er, I’m already at home.

Now I’ve got to pick myself up and think of England. Or rather the TV show Britain’s Got Talent. After all, Susan Boyle dreamed her dream. Day dreaming’s a little bit easier though.

March 30, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Comedy, Comedy writing, Humour, Uncategorized.

One Comment

  1. crubin replied:

    Finishing a project in one night? The perfectionist in me would see to it that I could never pull off that coup. Wow.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog. Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

