More shades of grey areas

Have you considered publishing your blog as a book? This is not something that had crossed my mind until now. This is a route that blogger/marketeer Seth Godin has taken. He regularly publishes content from his website in book form. People apparently want web content for free but are willing to pay for the same content in books. 

I just thought I’d throw this into the debate as my blog on “Shades of grey areas” seems to have raised more questions about e-publishing than it set out to answer by the responses I received from fellow bloggers. And those responses inspired me to do a little more research¬†into self-publishing/e-publishing.

In the same vein as Seth, the Poynter Institute‘s website has published a report on how a journalism class published a multi-platform book on bullying. This is a lesson for anyone in terms of writing, editing and marketing their e-book. Oh, and never giving up on your idea. Self-belief is half of the battle.

The multi-platform idea really grabbed my attention, as I am wondering whether to film my play “Martini Bond: Her hunt for the spy who loved her mum” and upload it onto YouTube. Not only would it be a record of the show, but friends, family and dare I say fans could also experience the play round the world. I’m just not sure what type of high quality gear would do it justice…I’d probably need something bigger than an iPhone.

Anyone got any ideas?

May 21, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , . Comedy, Comedy writing, Humour, Publishing.

10 Comments

  1. kateshrewsday replied:

    With a title like that, I’d be your first view…

  2. crubin replied:

    It is pretty amazing to think of the various venues out there to showcase one’s work. Putting your play on You Tube is an interesting concept. Unfortunately, I have no words of wisdom to share with you on that front, given my own state of general cluelessness, but it is a cool idea.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Hi Carrie
      Yes, I think it’s going to take a lot of thought and planning in terms of how to market the play! It’s fun trying to experiment with all the possibilities though

  3. kford2007 replied:

    I’ve heard of several people taking ‘popular posts’ from their blogs and turning those into e-books. it certainly is something to look into. I’m clueless as to how to make videos and upload them, not to mention I’m so self-conscious over the sound of my voice and what I look like that videos are probably off limits for me.

    I’ll be interested to see what other avenues you decide to take.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      I wouldn’t want to be on video either – but actors do want the exposure. So that’s fine with me! Just have to find an economical way of doing it so it doesn’t look naff! Thanks for commenting.

  4. Amritorupa Kanjilal replied:

    I’d pay a lot to watch Martini Bond :)

  5. mskatykins replied:

    I think that putting your work out there is a great idea. Even if you don’t put it on youtube or somewhere similar right away, it’ll be good for you to see it performed and to work on it further… and just to enjoy it! :) Good luck with it. :)

  6. Naomi Baltuck replied:

    Intriguing idea.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

