Empty nest syndrome

I’m at a loose end. The first readthrough with the entire cast and director went extremely well on Saturday. “You’ve sharpened up the script,” they said. They could only pick out one groan gag which I need to freshen up and add in a couple more gags elsewhere. Hahaha (me laughing at my own jokes), or was it more hehehair (evil Bond villain laugh).

Then I said: “So when do you want the final script by?” The response was not what I was expecting.

“This is it,” they said.

“What?”

“We only need a few tweaks – send in the replacement pages.”

“But, but, but…What am I going to do now?” I wailed.

I’ve spent months, the entire first half of this year, writing every day. Taking time off work to write. Writing when I should be exercising. I’ve grown fat, but let’s not dwell on that. I’m not ready to give up the script. I’m bereft.

All these thoughts flashed through my mind as they moved swiftly on to planning the entire rehearsal schedule. I dutifully wrote the dates down, wondering which ones I would go to. “When shall I come along to them?” I asked innocently. There was a bit of an awkward silence. Then someone, I forget who, blurted out: “You’re not needed any more.”

“Not needed?”

“We’ll email you any changes we want to the script…”

Aaaarrrrrggggghhhh. No, No, No. Got to get a grip. What do  I want? The play to sit in a drawer gathering dust? I just hadn’t prepared myself for empty nest syndrome. This is what it’s made me feel like. It’s like a child growing up and leaving home. My play has left home. And I’m sick with excitement about it going through its next development stages.

May 14, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Comedy, Comedy writing, Humour, Publishing.

11 Comments

  1. Pauline Guerin replied:

    If your play is anything like your blog, it’ll be immense! Sat here laughing out loud! Isn’t it funny how you spend so much time on something and then it’s taken away from you and flies on its own, just like having kids as you say! (chuckling)

  2. Julie replied:

    I have to be honest here. This is why I always have multiple projects on the go and start a new one as soon as I finish one of them. I found I had this same problem when I finished my first novel. After writing and working on it every day for over a month, I didn’t know what to do with myself when I’m not writing. So now I’m always writing. Perhaps it’s time to think about a new project? Just the beginnings of an idea to start with, but it would be a shame to slow down now :)

    Good luck with the play, I hope it’s a resounding success.

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Hi Julie
      Thanks for the advice. I do have an idea of what I want to work on next…but perhaps I’ll just take a mini break first. Agree that we should write every day tho.

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes replied:

    This sounds terrific! How creative you’re into :) Oh, my son is 16 & I’m so scared of empty nest syndrome as I do not have a social life (don’t know anyone in this town but work colleagues. But I’ll just have to face it

    What a great, inspired page :)

    Noeleen
    http://www.VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com (video diary) / http://www.WordsFallFromMyEyes.wordpress.com (1st draft of a novel)

  4. WomanBitesDog replied:

    Hi Noleen
    Thanks for visiting my blog. Perhaps there will be a writers’ circle or equivalent in your town. Make new writing friends face to face. Let us know how you get on.

  5. Pauline Guerin replied:

    I suppose that, given that this is your first time, the void is immense, the gap, for the moment, is huge. However, I personally think that a break is a good thing. Take time to reflect, what would you do differently, have you learnt anything at all from the experience and, if so, what? does that make a huge difference to how you might tackle your future projects. yes, of course it will.

    I think that the brain needs time to think, to regenerate, to move on; yes this is a period of ‘bereavement’ to some degree, but it’s also a time for intense creativity.

    Best of luck

    ‘P’

    • WomanBitesDog replied:

      Hi Pauline
      I’ve learnt loads – but that will have to be a subject for one of my next blogs! Definitely having some brain regeneration time now!

  6. Pauline Guerin replied:

    P.S. I don’t believe for a moment that you’ve grown fat! x

  7. rawmultimedia replied:

    :)

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

